D.Construct: Editing Services

deconstruct

verb, de·con·struct, \dē-kən-ˈstrəkt\
1:  to examine (as a work of literature) using the methods of deconstruction
2:  to take apart or examine in order to reveal the basis or composition of often with the intention of exposing biases, flaws, or inconsistencies
3:  to adapt or separate the elements of for use in an ironic or radically new way <uses his masterly tailoring skills to deconstruct the classics — Vogue>
4:  destroy, demolish <nations that are deconstructing themselves — Jim Hoagland>

credit: Merriam-Webster

Over the last seven years, I have done a lot of writing, been fortunate to have some of it published, and learned quite a bit along the way. Of the latter, I have always prided myself on my ability to self-edit and to deconstruct (and subsequently reconstruct) drafts and narratives. Skills I learned from experienced writers and educators but also from my own mistakes, failures, and successes. As a student, as a writer, and as an educator, I know how crucial it can be to have someone with a keen eye look over your work, provide a thorough critique, and offer suggestions for revision and improvement; but it’s not always easy to find another writer to do so, which is why I’ve decided to start D.Construct.

My fee* is small, flat rate, and will cost you about as much as a hardcover book (maybe less).

What you’ll get: I’ll read your piece thoroughly and more than once. I’ll let you know my overall impressions of the narrative elements and of the story as a whole, what I thought worked, what I thought didn’t, and how you could improve the piece. Feedback will be provided in the form of an email in addition to an attached copy of your piece with comments. I will also answer any questions that you have about my comments/feedback. I can also provide advice on sending your work out.

What you won’t get: help with grammar. Feedback on more than one piece (per fee). Help with poetry (I am not a poet). Help with writing other than fiction/non-fiction stories. Feedback on more than one draft (per the fee). Any guarantee that your work will be accepted (no one can guarantee this). This list is not exhaustive. If you are looking for a particular service, ask and I’ll let you know if it’s something that I can provide.

If you any questions or if you’re interested in my editing services, please email me at dconstructediting@gmail.com.

 

 

 

*The fee covers one draft of a fiction/non-fiction story up to 25 double-spaced pages, 12 point font, Times or Courier. The fee is non-negotiable and must be paid prior to receiving feedback. The fee is non-refundable. I reserve the right to refuse service to anyone.

 

Leave a comment